Quick Links

Quick Links

St Nicholas C of E Primary School

Studybugs Close pop up Follow link

Reception Implementation – How do we teach what we teach

At St Nicholas we follow the statutory Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. The EYFS Framework includes 7 areas of Learning and Development which shape activities and experiences for children in all early years settings. Three of these areas are known as the prime areas - Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development and these are recognised as the main focus for learning in EYFS, in order to provide children with the necessary skills to access the curriculum into Key Stage 1. The specific areas are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Reading and Communication & Language are at the heart of our Reception Discovery Curriculum and we use books and creative hooks to engage and inspire the children, and to provide exciting, enriching learning experiences that focus on specific areas of learning and development. For example, we use the story In every house, on every street by Jess Hitchman, as a creative hook to learn about where the children live, focusing on skills and knowledge in the areas of learning and development for - Understanding the World, Literacy, Communication & Language and PSED. This approach, we feel, gives our wonderful children the best opportunities to experience a language rich environment which supports language acquisition and development, to share awe and wonder, to promote sustained thinking and active learning, to encourage curiosity and allow the children opportunities to apply knowledge and skills they have learnt. Our Reception Discovery Curriculum overviews can be found on our web page by clicking the link opposite.

Welcome to St Nicholas C of E Primary School