St Nicholas School is situated near to Kenilworth town centre, in close proximity to Abbey Fields and Kenilworth Castle. The school originally opened in School Lane in the summer of 1860 as an infant and a girls’ school and moved to the present site in the Blundells in 1913 as a Council School for infants and mixed age groups. The old school in School Lane continued to be used for infants and juniors only.
In the early 1930s a new school was built on the Blundells site and this became Kenilworth’s first secondary school.
St Nicholas School moved entirely to the Blundells in the 1960s and the School Lane site became home to the new Priors Field School. When this relocated to its site on Clinton Lane, the old school was finally demolished. It is now the site of the Fire Station. The old secondary school building is now St Nicholas C of E Primary School.
Today, St Nicholas has 416 pupils on roll and prides itself on the quality of experience for children both within lesson time and in the extensive range of extra-curriculum activities. It is pleased to accommodate a private nursery with wrap-around care. For further details contact Castle Nursery on 01926 851821.
As a former secondary school, the building is on two levels and thus the extra space accommodates a computer suite, library, food technology suite and gym. Outside there is an outdoor learning area for Foundation Stage. The infant field and playground, sensory garden, wildlife area and an extensive junior field with two football pitches and second playground with 2 netball courts, provide amply for the PE curriculum.
The school is committed to raising standards and ensures all pupils achieve their potential so current developments focus on curriculum enrichment and differentiation at all levels of ability. Our Personal Development Programme is very strong and pupils interact well and enjoy school.